Terms of Reference for HECA Teaching & Learning Committee


To champion best practice in teaching, learning and assessment within HECA colleges, based on a set of learner- centered principles
It aims to do this by:
– Encouraging the professionalisation of teaching in Higher Education;
– Sharing expertise and best practice;
– Engaging with the National Forum for the Enhancement of Teaching and Learning;
– Encouraging member colleges to support their educational developers/teaching and learning advocates;
– Engaging in collaborative research around teaching, learning and assessment issues.


The Committee will:

  • Drive the development of learner-centered principles and evidence-based improvements in effective teaching and learning;
  • Contribute to regulatory and policy making bodies in relation to teaching, learning and assessments;
  • Inform the teaching and learning theme of the HECA annual conference, demonstrating innovation within a research informed environment;
  • Encourage the use of inter-college activities as an effective strategy in enhancing teaching and learning and knowledge creation;
  • Encourage educators to avail of the networking and workshop opportunities provided by various academic networks;
  • Develop partnerships with other Teaching and Learning Networks
  • Membership

    All HECA Colleges may nominate one person who they regard as the teaching & learning advocate. Current members include:
    Dr. Leo Casey, National College of Ireland
    Dr. Marcella Finnerty, IICP Education & Training
    Mr. Ronnie Harrison, Open Training College
    Ms Naomi Jackson, College of Computer Training
    Ms. Anne Mangan, Institute of Physical Therapy & Applied Science
    Ms. Sinead O’Brian, Dublin Business School
    Dr. Fiona O’Riordan, Griffith College
    Dr. Theresa Whitaker, Hibernia College
    HECA Library Committee representative: Mr Justin Smyth

    The role and responsibility of members is to:

    • Attend and participate in meetings
    • Disseminate information to educators within their own college
    • Contribute to achieving the mission of the network