History of HECA

HECA was set up in 1991 by four National Council of Education Awards designated colleges and has since expanded to include 15 colleges which are:

Over the past 20 years, HECA has become the recognised voice of independent higher level education in Ireland. It has made numerous submissions to QQI, HETAC, NQAI and HEA among others and has had a significant input into the development of independent third level education in Ireland.

HECA organises an annual Conference on various higher level education topics including Quality Assurance, Education and the Law, and the Skillbeck Report. This year’s Conference theme is “Demographic Trends:  – The Urgent Agenda of HE Places”.

Today, HECA’s main focus is on representing the independent third level sector by ensuring the highest standards of quality amongst its members.

  • College of Computing Technology
  • Dublin Business School
  • Galway Business School
  • Griffith College
  • Hibernia College

  • National College of Ireland
  • IICP Education and Training
  • Institute of Physical Therapy & Applied Science
  • Irish College of Humanities & Applied Sciences
  • SQT Training Ltd
  • Irish Institute of Purchasing & Materials Management
  • Dorset College Dublin
  • Open Training College
  • Setanta College
  • St. Nicholas Montessori College Ireland